On truth

I like the me that writes.  She has a clear eye, she can see through the crowded landscape of feelings and thoughts and hurts to the heart of the matter. Through to what matters. The journey there is easy for her.  She doesn’t get caught up in what others  think or feel and knows in a place other than her mind what the truth is.  And even if that truth is not the consensus of opinions, she has enough about her not to be concerned about this. She knows and that is enough for her.

My other part is more conventional.  She can get hung up on what he, she and they said or did.  What was meant on the outside and how it contrasted with the inside and she will search out the gap between them so she can insert a mind like an oyster knife and shuck the white flesh out into the open to squirm and gasp in the light of day, whilst she interrogates it to find out what ACTUALLY happened.

The strange thing about this process is that it is ultimately unsatisfactory.  The truth does not possess the capacity to set us free, because beneath this exposed layer lies another and another and each reveal presents us with less to know and more to ask.  It is not the knowing that has the answer, it is asking the question itself.  Within that question is the seed of true knowledge, that of knowing what is important to us.  And more important still, what is not.

Recently my sons asked me about the extent of my infidelity regarding their father, prompted, I feel, by inappropriate sharing from him, but I would wouldn’t I? I knew that they did not want to know these facts no matter that it seemed so important at the time.  What they wanted to know was, was I still their mother.  Could I have done these things and still be their mother?  I could and was, of course but the fact that their father would have encouraged them to do this in the name of truth remains one of the most difficult aspects of an unpleasant separation for me to come to terms with.  Just who was served by this  ripping away of decency from the position of the moral high-ground?  And what was gained by whom, at what cost?

The desire to know the truth is not one that can be allayed by words no matter how revealing they are.  Truth lies within us, to be found and held close.  Truth is, I don’t care about what someone I love has done in the past, no matter how close.  What I care about is if I can I look in their eyes and see connection.  Can I feel them close when we are separated by miles?  Do my dreams and hopes have them in them?  Do they make my spirit soar and set my mind free?

This is the knowledge I need.

 

 

9 thoughts on “On truth

  1. Do they make my spirit soar and set my mind free?

    Being quite the hedonistic Bohemian, this rings true to me as well Eye. I would only add, “Do they make my spirit soar and set my mind and body free?” Since you’ve lived “well” the traditional expected lifestyle that SHOULD make those that benefited eternally grateful… I say you DESERVE this new attitude for self and life! And remember too, there are plenty who will join you! 😉 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha! So funny you would say that Eye. As I was writing my messy 3rd comment, I thought to myself… “Self, why bother? I know Eye doesn’t mind, for several delicious reasons!” 😈

        And THAT is why I keep coming back Darling. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Truth for me is all about me being honest about my feelings. I have had a difficult journey. Not one hindered by the judgement of other so much as one hindered by my own judgement of myself.

    Years of feeling unworthy as a father. As a son. Some of those issues still haunt me and I’m seeking help with them. But I learned quickly that my profoundly anxious views of others were based upon my own disdain for my desires when I met a friend who is now my adopted sister. My mana. I am her manu. We share all our worries with each other. We verbalise everything we are feeling.

    I know the truth of who I am. Who I’m going to be and how I’m getting there. I have no further dislike of that part of me. I feel no desire to conceal it from people. It’s me. It’s who I am. In the past my desire to hide myself but to want to explore caused me to lie to people I loved which made me hate myself even more.

    It was a horrible time. Now I will help anyone I feel is doing that because it will destroy you if you let it. It will make you into the thing you hate most. If you cannot love yourself, you cannot love others.

    And there are so many people I love. Xxx

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

